Oliver Armando Alfaro Chavez
Ref# NE2455

About Me
My name is Oliver Armando Alfaro Chavez. I'm 6 years old.

My birthday is
May 7, 2014.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country


My Story


Zona 5, where your child lives, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump. Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard. Zone 5 is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City. It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers. Robberies and murders are common in this area. Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it. Life in Zone 5 is very difficult.

Hello! My name is Oliver Armando Alfaro Chavez. I was born on May 7, 2014 and I am 4 years old. I am in good health and I attend the Zone 5 feeding program. My mother’s name is Flor De Maria Chavez Perez, but sadly, about 3 years ago, she abandoned my family. She visits my siblings and me one day per week but she does not help us because she has another family and she does not work. My father’s name is Mynor Manuel Alfaro Gonzalez and he is a motorcycle taxi driver. We own the house in which we live. Other relatives also live there, but each family has its own space. The house has eight rooms in total. My family occupies two rooms, one of which is our kitchen.  The house is made of cement blocks with a tin roof and a ceramic tile floor. We have running water and electricity.  I have one brother and one sister. I am in kindergarten this year, and when I am not in school, I enjoy playing with my toy cars or my balls. My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the lizard.  The food that I like to eat the most is hamburgers. My family attends a catholic church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Oliver Armando Alfaro Chavez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary