Ricardo David Morales Ortega
Ref# NE2447

About Me
My name is Ricardo David Morales Ortega. I'm 12 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
August 23, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

I will start by giving you thanks for taking the time to read my update. I walk for seven minutes to arrive to the feeding program. I am Ricardo David but everybody affectionately calls me Gordito. I am 13 years old and my birthday was in August. I take classes in my village and I am a sixth-grade student. My school is about twenty five minutes away from my home. I love Social Science but Mathematics is a little difficult for me. In my free time, I do my homework. I am receiving and sending my homework by whatsapp due to the pandemic.

The people who live in the house are my parents, siblings and me. My father works as a taxi driver. The current situation has affected him a little but thank God, he continues working. My mother´s duties are taking care of us and doing the housework. We are members of the Catholic Church. I am grateful to God because we all are in good health. In spite of the hard health situation that we are currently facing in our country, our Lord has been taking care of us. We trust in our Lord's mercy and that He will put His healing hands over all people who are suffering during this pandemic. I would like to receive a letter from you and have the opportunity to share our life experiences with each other.

Thinking of you!

Ricardo David Morales Ortega

AAC NOTE: After the first COVID-19 case was confirmed in our country (March 13, 2020), our President ordered the closure of all the schools in order to prevent children becoming affected by this virus. We do not know when the schools will open again.  However, most of the schools are assigning homework to their students to cover the content for the current school year. As a team, we are praying that God takes control of this situation soon so that we may continue on with our lives.

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua