Melkin Alexander Jerez Garcia
Ref# DU1563

About Me
My name is Melkin Alexander Jerez Garcia. I'm a 16-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 30, 2006.
Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! I hope you are receiving many blessings. I am Melkin Alexander Jerez Garcia, and I am fifteen years old. This year, I returned to attend school, and I am in the seventh grade at school again because I did not pass it. I am receiving study guides to do at home. I go to school every fifteen days because I go to receive my guides. I do not understand how to do some of homework due to the lack of face-to-face classes. I put internet data on the cellphone because I have to use WhatsApp. Fortunately, the feeding program is open again, and I walk about ten minutes to arrive. I missed attending it and the food. My father is supplying our needs by working as a farmer on San Sebastian Farm, and my mother does the chores at home. On Sundays, we prepare a special lunch and spend good time as a family.

My family and I attend Catholic Church which is located about ten minutes from our house. My sister has the privilege to be a member of a brotherhood. We felt sad when our church was closed, but thank God, it is open again. On Christmas time, we stay at home due to the pandemic. We live in a rented house which is made of tin sheet and dirt floor. We have one room with separate kitchen. We have electricity, but we do not have running water. Our neighbor gives us water with a hose. One of our basic needs is the water because we do not our own service. Thank God, we are in good health. Fortunately, my family always had work, and the pandemic has not affected us. We received groceries from the feeding program, and it was a great help for us. I personally gave this information about me to the evangelism teacher. I hope you like my letter. May God bless you and take care of you!

With much love,

Melkin Alexander Jerez Garcia

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua