Ramiro Garcia De La Cruz
Ref# CC1539

About Me
My name is Ramiro Garcia De La Cruz. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 14, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Ramiro Garcia de la Cruz, and I am nine years old. I was born on April 14, 2012. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am a healthy boy. I have two brothers and one sister. I am studying in the third grade at school. I enjoy playing football and marbles. My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the rabbit. I love to eat rice and noodles. My father´s name is Santos Garcia Pastor, and he works as a day laborer with our neighbors. He also works at home and grows corn for our consumption. My mother´s name is Cecilia de la Cruz Ruiz, and she is a housewife. She raises some hens and sells them when she has a need. We have our own house. My house is small, and we have only one room. The houses is made of boards, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We do not have a kitchen, so we use our room to cook in. We do not have electricity, but we use candles in the nights. We do not have running water, so we get it from a water source that is located about fifteen minutes from my house, and we use the water to drink and to cook. When we have to wash our clothes, we go to river. My cousins, my older brother and I attend the feeding program, and we walk about one hour to arrive. My family and I attend Catholic Church.

Hugs and much love,

Ramiro Garcia de la Cruz

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua