Anderson Yair Garcia Morente
Ref# ZA4781

About Me
My name is Anderson Yair Garcia Morente. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
April 17, 2015.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley. The village is inhabited by both Quiche Mayans and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish. Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe. Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small, specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen. It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area. Even with all of this, the poverty level is very high and the children are very needy.

My name is Anderson Yair Garcia Morente. I was born on April 17, 2015. I am 7 years old. I attend first grade at school. I like to play soccer and tag with my siblings. I love the color blue. My favorite animal is the rabbit. My favorite meal is fried chicken. Thank God, my family is in good health, and so am I. I live with my parents, one brother and two sisters. My father´s name is Romeo Garcia de la Cruz. He earns a living by selling “tacos” every day. My mother´s name is Rosa Morente Ruiz de Garcia, and she does the chores at home and helps my father in the taqueria. We have hens at home.

The house in which we live belongs to my maternal grandmother, and we share it with her. There are 2 rooms with a separate kitchen. It is an adobe house with a tile roof and a cement floor. We have water and electricity services, and my father is in charge of paying the electricity. I walk 15 minutes to get to the feeding program. It is a great blessing for me to be registered in the program. We are members of a Methodist Church. I thank you for taking the time to read my personal information.

Lots of love,

Anderson Yair Garcia Morente

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua