Emely Jimena Garcia Riz
Ref# CC1571

About Me
My name is Emely Jimena Garcia Riz. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 2, 2012.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

It is a wonderful day to greet you! God bless you. I am Emely Jimena, and I am a 10-year-old girl. Praise the Lord, my family and I are attending Methodist Church on Wednesday. This time LW staff gave us encouraging words to continue at church; we appreciate the spiritual support we received. My father is Gerardo and his age is 38 years old. He does farm work and is a day laborer. He supplies the home needs. My mother is Maria, and she is 35 years old. She is a housewife, and she weaves typical blankets for selling and contribute to the income. In addition, we raise hens, sheep, pigs and cows. We also grow black beans for our consumption. I am healthy and so is my family.

Let me share some things about myself. I am in 4th grade; since I receive classes at school, I am learning a lot. Due to a lack of work in the village, it is difficult for my parents to support me at school and pay for school supplies. Later, I would like to learn how to weave typical skirts; I think it is very interesting. I would like to learn English; I think it is a very interesting language. I like to play football in my free time; it is the sport I like the most. I like strawberries and I like to drink strawberry smoothies. On my birthday, I love to share time with my family, and we usually eat a delicious cake; they make me feel so special. I like the Christmas season because I light some firecrackers. Being part of the feeding program has blessed me a lot because I get my meals and have medical care at the clinics when I get sick. We do not have a good economy, so our needs are food, corn, and soap. Sending hugs with much love. May God shine down his blessings on you!

Lots of love,

Emely Jimena Garcia Riz

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala