Juana Estela Morente Morente
Ref# CC1542

About Me
My name is Juana Estela Morente Morente. I'm a 12-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 18, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Juana Estela Morente Morente and I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I was born on April 18, 2009 and I am twelve years old. I am a healthy girl. I have seven brothers and three sisters. I am studying and I am in the 5th grade at school. I am receiving my classes every Monday. In my free time, I do my homework and tend sheep. My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the pig. I like to eat roast beef. My family and I attend Prince of Peace Church, and we receive the services every Friday. My father´s name is Irene Morente Garcia, and my mother´s name is Maria Morente Mendez. My father works as a day laborer with our neighbors. He also weaves typical blankets and typical rugs to sell in Zacualpa town. My mother does the household chores and is also a weaver. My house has six rooms including the kitchen and it is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. My siblings and I walk about forty-five minutes to attend the feeding program.

Many hugs and kisses,

Juana Estela Morente Morente

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua