Edwin Leonel Morente Morente
Ref# CC1541

About Me
My name is Edwin Leonel Morente Morente. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 28, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Edwin Leonel Morente Morente and I am fourteen years old. I was born on April 28, 2007. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am a healthy boy. I have seven brothers and three sisters. I am in the sixth grade at school and am receiving classes every Monday. I enjoy playing football and looking after our cows. My favorite color is white and my favorite animal is the cow. I really love to eat fried chicken. My father´s name is Irene Morente Garcia, and he works as a day laborer with our neighbors. He also weaves typical blankets and typical rugs to sell in Zacualpa town. My mother´s name is Maria Morente Mendez, and she also is a weaver. My house has six rooms including the kitchen and is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. My siblings and I walk about forty-five minutes to attend the feeding program. My family and I attend Prince of Peace Church, and we receive the services every Friday.

Blessings and much love,

Edwin Leonel Morente Morente

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua