Ervin Urbano Luis Luis
Ref# PT0101

About Me
My name is Ervin Urbano Luis Luis. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 19, 2008.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

PT0101

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.

Hello! My name is Ervin Urbano Luis Luis. I was born on September 19, 2008 and I am 13 years old. Thank God, I am in good health and my family is too. I walk for 1 hour to get to the Pasojoc III feeding program or two hours if I want to go to Pasojoc I. I am in 5th grade and I receive classes only on Mondays and Tuesdays. This is because the coronavirus is still affecting our country. I like to play marbles in my spare time. I usually go to pick coffee beans on the coast with my father for about 2 months. My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the tiger. My favorite meal is black beans. I have four sisters and no brothers. My father´s name is Santos Luis de Leon. He earns a living as a farmer, and he travels to the coast to pick coffee beans during the harvest, while my mother, siblings and I stay at home. My mother´s name is Olivia Luis Mendez. She does the chores at home and raises hens. We own the house where we live; the house is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor; one room and a separated kitchen. We have electricity but no running water, however, we have a well and get the water from there. We do not attend any church. Every blessing for you!

Hugs and lots of love,

Ervin Urbano Luis Luis

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua