Dallaret Isabel Barrera Melchor
Ref# JT2592

About Me
My name is Dallaret Isabel Barrera Melchor. I'm a 6-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 14, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Dallaret Isabel Barrera Melchor. I was born on September 14, 2015, and I am 6 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I am in kindergarten this year; I am receiving study guides every fifteen days. I like coloring and playing with my dolls and friends in my free time. I love pink, and I like cats. My favorite food is sausage. I only have one sister. I live about 25 minutes away from the feeding program. We are not attending a church.

My father’s name was Luis Alejandro Barrera, and sadly, he passed away about one year ago due to a motorcycle accident. My mother’s name is Sheila Noemi Melchor Barrientos, and she is the one who covers the home expenses. She works as a waitress in a restaurant in Antigua town. We live in a rented two-room house made of tin sheets with a dirt floor; it has running water and electricity. I would like to ask you to pray for my family because we are passing through economic problems since my mother is the only one who works to support the family. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

Hugs and kisses

Dallaret Isabel Barrera Melchor

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua