Maribel Loarca Raguex
Ref# JT2589

About Me
My name is Maribel Loarca Raguex. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 20, 2010.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Maribel Loarca Raguex. I was born on March 20, 2010, and I am 11 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I am in second grade this year; I am receiving study guides every fifteen days. I help to make tortillas, play with my siblings and do some household chores in my free time. I love pink, and I like dogs. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have three brothers and three sisters. I live about 15 minutes away from the feeding program. We are attending a Christian Church called New Jerusalem.

My father’s name is Juan Loarca Jorge, and he works as an ice cream seller. Sadly, he does not contribute with the home income because he has alcoholic problems. I would like to ask you to pray for my father´s life because his vice affects us a lot financially. My mother’s name is Manuela Raguex Mejia, and she covers the family basic needs thanks to her tortillas business. We live in a rented three-room house made of tin sheets with a dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Maribel Loarca Raguex

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua