Yasmin Elizabeth Felipe Lopez
Ref# JT2572

About Me
My name is Yasmin Elizabeth Felipe Lopez. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 5, 2016.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry).  Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school.  Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Yasmin Elizabeth Felipe Lopez. I was born on October 05, 2016 and I am 5 years old. I am a healthy girl. My father’s name is Margarito Felipe Flores and he works in a butcher’s shop. My mother’s name is Olga Lidia Lopez De Leon de Felipe, and she works in a bakery shop. I have six sisters and one brother. We are in good health, and thank God, none of my family or close relatives have gotten Covid-19. We live in a rented house and my parents pay Q900.00 quetzals ($120) per month. We have running water and electricity and we pay Q50.00 quetzals ($6.66) every month. We have two rooms, and our kitchen is outdoor; the rooms are made of tin sheets with a concrete floor.

I am in kindergarten this year and I am receiving study guides and delivering my homework every fifteen days; I only sometimes have classes online. I play with my dolls and cats in my free time. I love red color and the cats. I have two cats as pets. My favorite food is pizza. I usually walked 20 minutes to arrive to the feeding program, but it had to close its doors due to the pandemic. We attend a church called High Chamber, but my mother does not do it due to her job. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Yasmin Elizabeth Felipe Lopez

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua