Sergio


Gender Male
Birth Date Dec 07, 2014
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Sergio Tzoy Tecum.  I was born on December 7, 2014.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and two sisters who also attend the program. My father’s name is Jose and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Sebastiana and she takes care of our home. She also sews traditional skirts sometimes. Two or my sisters are working to help my family economically.  We rent the house that we are living in.  It has two rooms and a separate kitchen.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  We have running water but not electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  We have some hens and a pig.  When the are grown, we sell them to earn money for our expenses.  Two of my older siblings travel to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and balls.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like best are bananas and instant soup.  My family attends an Evangelical church.

With much love and many blessings,

Sergio Tzoy Tecum

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00