Guadalupe Argentina Valencia Portillo
Ref# WJT0018

About Me
My name is Guadalupe Argentina Valencia Portillo. I'm a 66-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 12, 1954.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Guadalupe Argentina Valencia Portillo and I was born on December 12th, in 1954. I am currently 67 years old. I live in Colonia Las Victoria, Jocotenango about a 05-minute walk from the feeding program. I am a widow and I had three children but they passed when they were babies. I live alone and struggle every day to sustain myself. I cannot find a stable job due to my advanced age. For that reason, I sometimes do not have money for food.  I make a living by washing and cleaning for others. I earn Q30.00 (a little less than $4) every time I work.

I live alone in a rented room made of tin sheet roof and walls with cemented floor.  There is running water and electricity that is included in the rented payment. I pay Q250 (a little less than $33) monthly for rent, but it is hard for me to have that money every time. I do not know how to read and write; for that reason, my family is ashamed of me and does not have any communication with me or even help me. Thankfully, I am in good health. I have many needs, but the main one is groceries. I am not member of any Church, but the LW collaborator prayed with me and I accepted Jesus as my Savior. I was also invited to attend the Liberty Church.

Guadalupe Argentina Valencia Portillo

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval / AAC Secretary