Ledjan Macollari
Ref# UMD0047

About Me
My name is Ledjan Macollari. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 26, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Ledjan Macollari. I am a 9 year old boy and my birthday is on July 26th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a doctor. I attend the third grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. The subject I like to study the most at school is Math. Because of the Pandemic, when we attend school, we need to keep the distancing and wear our masks inside the class. Right after school, at midday, when I return home, I offer myself to help my parents with all that I can offer. For example, I take fire wood from outside and bring them in when we need them or run to the shop to get something quick that my mother needs. For a few hours I like to get together with my friends to play outside, but not for too long because the winters are too cold in our country. When my friends and I gather to play we usually choose to play football in the school field of our village or in the road.  

My family and I live in Dunica. My village is located in Upper Mokra. The infrastructure is totally missing and the road of our village is in really bad conditions, filled with mud and with many holes that get filled with water during the fall. My father’s name is Arjan and my mother’s name is Anila. I have a 14 years old sister whose name is Rena. She is also registered in the programme. My father is jobless and he works in the people of the village to earns a bit income to buy food to us. Unlike the other families in the village, we don’t have a big portion of land and we as a result can’t raise animals.

We have only planted a vegetable garden in front of our home on spring and my mother has already preserved in a few jars tomatoes and peppers so that we can consume them during winter. Around our land and garden we have got a few fruits trees as whole nuts, plums, apples and pears and my mother has already filled a few vases with compost and jam out of these fruits. During this season, my father to goes and collects wood in the mountain because he can’t offer to buy the fire wood that is needed for us to burn the fire and stay warm. I attend the program in Dunca. We gather to the house we meet in Dunica for Bible studies and children’s meetings and I go there with my class friends usually, but not during this time. We are respecting the distancing pandemic rules. The teens above 13 are allowed to gather and at present they attend the Bible studies. During the week, there is also another meeting for the older persons where many ladies participate to study the Bible. I go to the programe centre once a month and there I have been blessed with a package with groceries. This package contains sugar, oil, rice, flour as well as washing detergents. Same as all the people who live in Dunica my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for the help and support to us. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a child Albania