Yoselin Yolanda


Gender Female
Birth Date Apr 28, 2016
Age 3 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chuchucá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CA1686

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello, my name is Yoselin Yolanda Gomez Ajqui.  I was born on April 28, 2016 and I am three years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have three brothers and five sisters.  My siblings also attend the feeding program and we walk about 30-40 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Diego and he is a farmer.  He grows corn and beans for our own consumption.  Sometimes, he travels to the coast to working during the coffee harvest at the end of the year.  My mother’s name is Juana and she is a housewife and a weaver.  She also has some domestic animals that she sells when we have some needs.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  We have water and electricity.  I am not going to school yet, so I spend my time playing with my doll.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like best are apples and fried chicken.  My family attends a Church of Christ.

With much love and many blessings,

Yoselin Yolanda Gomez Ajqui

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00