Hugo Ronaldo


Gender Male
Birth Date Jan 19, 2016
Age 3 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chuchucá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CA1681

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello, my name is Hugo Ronaldo Hernandez Gomez.  I was born on January 19, 2016 and I am three years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have two brothers and one sister who also attend the feeding program and we walk about 30 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Hugo and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast each year for one or two months to work during the coffee harvest.  My mother’s name is Rosa and she is a housewife.  She also helps my father in the fields and she goes to the coast with him to work.  My siblings and I do not travel to the coast.  We stay with my grandmother.  The house where we live belongs to my grandmother.  It has one room with a separate kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We do not have electricity or water.  We use candles for lighting.  We get our water with a water hose from a natural water source.  We have one pig, one dog and a cat.  I am not going to school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cow.  The foods that I like best are grilled beef and watermelon.  My family attends a Church of Christ.

With much love and many blessings,

Hugo Ronaldo Hernandez Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00