Teresa Leticia


Gender Female
Birth Date May 11, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2875

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Teresa Leticia Ajqui Garcia.  I was born on May 11, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have only one brother who also attends the feeding program.  My father’s name is Hector and he works as a day laborer.  He also travels to the coast to work, but we do not go with him. My mother’s name is Guadalupe and she is a housewife.  She also weaves traditional items that she sells to earn money for our expenses.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It has two rooms including the kitchen.  We do not have our own water or electricity.  My grandmother brings us water, and we get our electricity from an aunt.  The only domestic animals we have are some hens.  I am in kindergarten and when I am not in school, I like to play with my little dolls and my toy dishes.  I also like to sweep.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the chicken.  The foods that I like best are strawberries, apples and caldo de pollo (traditional chicken soup with vegetables).  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Teresa Leticia Ajqui Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00