Leonel Azael


Gender Male
Birth Date Nov 15, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Leonel Azael Garcia Riquiac.  I was born on November 15, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 40 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have only one sister.  My mother’s name is Amalia and she is a part-time teacher.  My father’s name is Juan Carlos and he is a bus driver.  He also owns a business selling typical blouses.  We rent the house in which we live.  The house is made of cement blocks with a cement floor.  We have one room and kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We do not have any domestic animals.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my day playing with my toy cars and coloring.  I also like to play soccer.  My favorite colors are red and green and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are grapes and fried chicken.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Leonel Azael Garcia Riquiac

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00