Juan Rolando


Gender Male
Birth Date Jun 02, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Juan Rolando Morales Ordonez.  I was born on June 2, 2013.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 45 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and two sisters.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  We have water and electricity.  My father’s name is Tomas and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Maria and she takes care of our home.  She also has some hens that she takes care of.  My older brother is working in a store in the capital and he is the one who covers most of our expenses.  I am in kindergarten, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing with my toy cars, playing soccer or riding a bicycle.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the baby chick.  The foods that I like best are bananas and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Juan Rolando Morales Ordonez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00