Naydelin Elisandra Perez Yat
Ref# CH4244

About Me
My name is Naydelin Elisandra Perez Yat. I'm 4 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 26, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Naydelin Elisandra Perez Yat.  I was born on October 26, 2015.  I do not have any brothers or sisters.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 25 minutes to get to the feeding program.  My father’s name is Carlos and he works as a day laborer and a mason’s assistant.  My mother’s name is Elsa and she takes care of our home.  She also has some domestic animals and when they are grown, she sells them to have money for our expenses. My family does not travel to the coast to work as many families do.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  It has two rooms. We have electricity, but we do not have running water.  We buy our water from my grandmother who lives nearby.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my doll and toy dishes.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are bananas and spaghetti.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Naydelin Elisandra Perez Yat

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary