Maria Jose Puc Otzin
Ref# DU1837

About Me
My name is Maria Jose Puc Otzin. I'm a 15-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 9, 2007.
Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello!

My name is Maria Jose Puc Otzin, and I am pretty excited to tell you a little bit about my life. I am 14 years old, and nowadays, I keep busy working as a babysitter from 6:00 to 4:00 pm every day to help my family economically. As you know, my father abandoned us many years ago. However, my mother struggles for our family by harvesting macadamias to cover the household expenses. My family and I live in a rented house which is made of tin sheets and dirt floors. The house has one room, a separate kitchen, electricity, and running water. I love spending time with my family while we eat our dinner because we take advantage to talk. Sadly, the pandemic affected our economy because my mother ran out of work for some time.

However, our Lord has always been merciful with us because we moved forward with the grocery bags that Living Water gave us to subsist. Moreover, none of us has gotten sick, and we are healthy. My family and I do not attend church yet, but I hope to do it someday. I want to tell you that I could not attend the feeding program to avoid the virus. Nevertheless, I missed the special activities that teachers used to organize. After a long time being closed, the feeding program is open again; this is an eight-minute walk from my home. Lastly, let me tell you that I gave this information to an evangelism team member to share with you my. I say goodbye to you for now, but if you want to know something else from me, feel free to ask me. Take care of yourself!

With much love,

Maria Jose Puc Otzin

Translated by: Hillary Popol, AAC Secretary/Antigua