Yesica Paola Simaj Franco
Ref# PT0220

About Me
My name is Yesica Paola Simaj Franco. I'm a 11-year-old.

My birthday is
January 10, 2013.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name is Yesica Paola Simaj Franco. I was born on December 10, 2013, and I am 10 years old. I am a healthy girl. I want to let you know that I broke my right leg last year, but sometimes I have some pain. I am in 4th grade at school this year. My favorite color is pink. I love rabbits. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have three brothers. I walk for fifteen minutes to attend the Feeding Program. I like to play with dolls at home. As a family, we are not attending any Church. I am under the care of my mother. My father’s name is Sabino Simaj Quino. He left for the United States 2 years ago. At the moment, he works as a mason, and he sends us some money every month in order to contribute to the home expenses. My mother’s name is Estela Franco Poncio, and she is a housewife and takes care of me. In addition, she raises hens and goats to sell and get some income.  We live in our maternal uncle`s house. His name is Adelso Franco, and we share the house with my grandparents. It has three rooms and one separated kitchen. Our house is made of cement blocks, cement roofs, and ceramic floors. We have running water and electricity. My grandparents pay for the services every month. As a humble family, our needs are groceries and clothes. We have hens and goats at home, and we would like to have some chickens. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you richly!

Warm regards,

Yesica Paola Simaj Franco

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua