Andrea Siomara Chiquiaj Grave
Ref# CC1601

About Me
My name is Andrea Siomara Chiquiaj Grave. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
November 24, 2015.
Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located on the high side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is so difficult and isolated from the outside world. It is a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They generally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

I am Andrea Siomara Chiquiaj Grave, and I am so happy to tell you about my life. I was born on November 24, 2015, in Zacualpa, Quiche. I do not attend school yet because of my age. So, I like playing with my dolls and cookware toys. My favorite color is pink. I love eating fried chicken, and my favorite animal is the rabbit. Let me tell you that I have a lovely family. I have one sister and one brother. My father’s name is Victor Manuel Chiquiaj Gutierrez. He works for our neighbors as a day laborer. Besides that, he travels to the coast for one month to get extra income; my family and I usually go with him. My mother’s name is Mayra Leticia Grave Quino. She is a housewife and sells hens to help my father with the expenses. Thankfully, my whole family and I are in good health and attend the Prince of Peace Church. We live in our own house. Its walls are made of wood and corn cane, tin sheet roof, and dirt floors. The house has one room and a separate kitchen. There is no electricity or running water, but one of our neighbors provides us with water, and we bring it to our home in plastic jars and use candles at night. We want to fix our house to live better than nowadays, so we pray that God helps us. Because of that, I also would like to count on your prayers. The feeding program is a 40-minute walk from my house; my mother takes my older brother and me there. I leave you now, but before saying goodbye to you, I would like to know from your loved ones and you the next time.

With much love,

Andrea Siomara Chiquiaj Grave

Translated by: Hillary Popol, AAC Secretary/Antigua