Jaime Cheison Morente Morente
Ref# CC1544

About Me
My name is Jaime Cheison Morente Morente. I'm a 6-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 2, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! I am Jaime Cheison Morente Morente, and I feel so happy to share with you a little about me. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I was born on June 2, 2015 and I am six years old. I am in good health. I have seven brothers and three sisters. I am not attending school yet. I spend my time playing toys cars, football and I like to fly kites. I like the color black and my favorite animal is the dog. My favorite meal is chicken soup. My family and I attend Prince of Peace Church, and we receive the preaching every Friday. My father´s name is Irene Morente Garcia, and he works as a day laborer with our neighbors. My mother does the household chores. Both of my parents weave typical blankets and typical rugs to sell in Zacualpa town. My house has six rooms including the kitchen and it is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have running water and electricity. My siblings and I attend the feeding program,  and we walk about forty-five minutes to arrive.

Lots of hugs with much love,

Jaime Cheison Morente Morente

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua