Wilson Enrique Morente Calachij
Ref# CC1532

About Me
My name is Wilson Enrique Morente Calachij. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
August 1, 2014.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country


My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Wilson Enrique Morente Calachij and I was born on August 1, 2014. I am seven years old. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am a healthy boy. I have one sister. I am not attending school yet. I like to spend my time playing toy cars. My favorite color is yellow, and my favorite animal is the rabbit. I love to eat fried chicken. Unfortunately, my father abandoned me, and he never legally recognized me. My mother´s name is Rufina Cristina Morente Calachij, and she goes to work in a tortillas business in Guatemala City. We live in my grandparents´ house. My grandfather is in the United States, and he helps us with the expenses. We have two rooms and one kitchen. The house is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We do not have electricity because they cut off it. Now, we use candles. We do not have running water, sp we get it from a hose because we have a river near our house. My uncles and I walk thirty minutes to attend the feeding program. My family and I attend Assembly of God Church.

Hugs and many blessings,

Wilson Enrique Morente Calachij

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua