Heidy Ajqui Garcia
Ref# PA2017

About Me
My name is Heidy Ajqui Garcia. I'm a 4-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 17, 2016.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Heidy Ajqui Garcia. I was born on December 17, 2016, and I am 5 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I do not attend school yet due to my age. I keep playing with my dolls and toy dishes at home. I love purple, and I like ducks. My favorite foods are noodles and rice. I live about 30 minutes away from the feeding program; one of my aunts accompanies me to the program. We are part of a Charismatic group that belongs to the Catholic Church. Thank God, my family is in good health.

My father’s name is Armando De La Cruz, but he did not legally recognize me because he left to go to the United States before I was born. My mother does not know what kind of job he has there because they do not have good communication between them; he only sometimes helps us a little financially. My grandfather, Eulalio De La Cruz, covers most of my mother’s and my expenses. He works as a farmer and day laborer with our neighbors. My mother’s name is Petronila Ajqui Garcia, and she is a housewife. We live with my maternal grandparents; my grandma’s name is Ana Poncio Jimon. The house is made of concrete blocks with a terrace roof and has two rooms and one kitchen. We have electricity, but we use a hose to bring water from a river. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Heidy Ajqui Garcia

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua