Roselia Aracely Matias Alquijay
Ref# WDU0025

About Me
My name is Roselia Aracely Matias Alquijay. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 26, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Single Mother

Attends Program

Dueñas

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

My name is Roselia Aracely Matias Alquijay, I am 14 years old, and I am a single mother since the father of my baby does not know that I had a baby of him. Unfortunately, my parents had problems and separated for a while and in this time, I was in my teenage years, I became a little rebel and I started to go out frequently. I met a guy older than me; he was 17 years old, and I was 13 years old. He lives in Antigua Guatemala village, but I do not know where he lives or more about him and his family. We had sexual intercourse and I did not know that I have got pregnant. When my parents found out that I was pregnant they scolded me, but they also supported me during this process. They always have been so lovely with me and despite they have been having their problems they continue together, and they are helping me to go ahead. Unfortunately, I could not inform the father of my son that I was pregnant because restrictions and curfew started in the country because of the pandemic.  He does not know that he has a son, some time ago I went to look for him to inform him, but I did not find him. The police started to investigate to my parents because I am a minor, and I had a baby; my mother informed them what happened, and they explained her that they as my parents must help me and support me until I turn 18 years old if we do not want that they take my son to an orphanage and me to a government home. I continued with my studies, this has not been easy for me because I must raise my baby and do my homework, but I am striving because I value all that my parents are doing for me.

I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy, his name is Heythan Alexander Matias Alquijay, and he is seven months old. He is already eating, and he is a healthy baby despite I did not have breast milk to feed him. When my parents can buy him milk, he drinks it, but when it is over, I give him “atoles” (typical hot drinks). He does not like to drink a lot these atoles  (oat and Incaparina), he cries when he does not has his milk, but the only one that works to cover our needs is my father; he works by riding his “BiciTaxi” (bicycle-taxi) he earns about Q.50.00 or Q.60.00 ($.7.00 or $.9.00) per day and this is for buying our food, the milk and diapers for my baby. This is not enough to buy milk all the time, and my mother does not work because she helps me to look after the baby when I am studying. My parents legally recognized to my baby; it is why we have the same last names; they treat my baby like their own son.

The house where we live is made of wood and tin sheets, we have dirt and cement floor, we have running water, and electricity. It is located about 5 minutes from the feeding program. We have domestic animals like ducks, chickens, and cats at home. We as family attend a Christian Church called ‘Dios es Amor” (God is Love). We are a family of low economic resources, our needs are groceries, clothes, and milk for my baby. We have pending to pay three months of the electricity and internet services. These are very important for me since my classes are online, and I am in eighth grade. We pray God every single day to provide us all that we need and give my son all that he needs. He does not have a crib or a nice place to play; my father made a small wooden playpen where he can be meanwhile, he grows up and walks. This is my story and I trust that God will help us to go ahead and will guide me to be a good mother for my son.

Many blessings

Roselia Aracely Matias Alquijay