Regina Laraku
Ref# KA1263

About Me
My name is Regina Laraku. I'm a 3-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 6, 2017.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Katjel

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Regina Laraku. I am a 3 years old girl and my birthday is on July 6th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a doctor. I attend the kindergarten from morning till midday and there our teacher teaches to us to read, write as well as to draw and color. We also spend time to play there with the few toys the kindergarten has got. Because of the Pandemic, we all need to wear masks and respect the distancing during all the time that we are inside our classes. After I return from the kindergarten, I like to get together with my friends and play outside for a while. We play simple games as hide and seek, or run to catch one another. When I play outside I like to get my dolls with me so I can play with my friends. We don’t play far from our homes and during the winter we stay only for a short time because the weather is too cold. The Living Water Adopt a Child church of Katjel has almost daily Bible study meetings, prayer meetings as well as other activities as movie nights. Because of the Pandemic we can’t yet attend the children’s meetings and only the children above 13 are allowed to attend.  Once a month I go to receive a food package as a gift from the Adopt a Child. The package contains food like flour, oil, sugar, rice, washing detergents, etc. I am thankful to the Adopt a Child for the help and support to me.

My family and I live in Katjel. All the families in this village are living in poverty as dealing with agriculture or raising animals is not beneficial. In our village we have Chrome mine and my father together with the other men of the village collect chrome individually and sell it to the people who come to buy it from then.  My father’s name is Ferdinant and my mother’s name is Nina. They both work in the land and have planted crops and vegetables to provide for us whatever we need to consume without having to buy in the shops. My parents plant in a portion of land alfalfa as well as oat which serves as stock food for the animals. Around our land and gardens we have fruit trees and after collecting these fruits my mother makes jam or composts for us. During the autumn my mother has also preserved vegetables that we can consume them during winter. My parents have already provided the flour we need as my mother bakes the bread at home.  My father also emigrates for a season over in Northern Macedonia or in Greece and there he works in agriculture. During the winter, my father is collecting the fire wood we need in the mountains. The people in the village can’t offer to buy fire-wood therefore they keep donkeys or horses in order to collect the wood themselves. Keeping a cow or a few goats we gain a few litters of milk and selling a few goats or a calf is a way to increase a bit more the income of the family.  My family and I are living in poverty and I am thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for the constant care on me.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania