Feruze Leka
Ref# WPP0010

About Me
My name is Feruze Leka. I'm 58 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 7, 1962.
Sponsorship Type

Widow/Widower

Attends Program

Proptisht

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Feruze Leka. I am a widow. My birthday is on September 7th and I am 57 years old. I am doing well and enjoy good health. I am still strong to work in my garden in order to provide fresh vegetables for consumption. I am also able to care for myself and my needs as far as cooking and cleaning.

I was born in Losnik and this village is not too far from Proptisht where I started to live after I got married. My husband has died before three years. I am living alone in a small house that doesn’t offer appropriated living conditions. I have three persons containing my family. I have a son that cares for me and my needs and I live with him and his family. My son has emigrated since two years in Germany and through there he provides for all of our living needs. We all miss him very much, but we are happy he is hired and is working constantly. He has the possibility to come and see us for a couple of times within the year. I used to work here in the village in agriculture. I have not yet retired because I haven’t reached to age to be retired.

My son’s family and I own land in the village and we do plant, but not very much. Usually we plant the vegetable garden to gain and consume fresh vegetables as peppers, beans, tomatoes and anions. We also plant corn in a small portion of land so that we can feed it to our chickens. We have got a few apples as well as plums and pears around our land and garden. I hire someone to collect these fruits for me and I compost them is vases to be preserved and used during the winter. Being a widow, I face hardships in providing all that I need even that my son cares for me. I am very happy that the church of Proptisht is carrying for me. They are visiting me in my home once a month and are delivering to me a food package that is provided through the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child. I attend the ladies meetings as well as the church services every Monday. Thank you for all your care on me.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania