Karla Johana


Gender Female
Birth Date Feb 09, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Karla Johana Garcia Chingo.  I was born on February 9, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and one sister.  My father’s name is Ramiro and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Juana and she takes care of our home.  We live in the house with my grandfather.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tile roof and a cement floor.  In total, there are 10 people living in the house.  We have water and electricity.  We also have some chickens that we sell when we have a need for additional resources.  I am in kindergarten, and in my free time, I like to play with my toy dishes and my dolls.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are apples and caldo de pollo (traditional chicken soup).  My family attends a Methodist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Karla Johana Garcia Chingo

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00