Sergio Mauricio


Gender Male
Birth Date Sep 20, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2860

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Sergio Mauricio Chan Zacarias.  I was born on September 20, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  My mother’s name is Estela and she is a housewife.  My father’s name is Selvin.  Both parents travel to the coast to work during the coffee harvest for three months.  While my parents are at the coast, my brother and I stay with my aunt.  We own the house in which we live.  It is one room made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We cook in this same room.  We have water and electricity.  We do not have any domestic animals, nor do we grow any type of crops.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and my balls.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are mandarins and sausages.  Currently, my family does not attend church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Sergio Mauricio Chan Zacarias

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00