Didier Jared


Gender Male
Birth Date May 12, 2012
Age 7 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Didier Jared Gutierrez Riz.  I was born on May 12, 2012.  I have always had problems with nose bleeds.  I have been to the doctors, and they have treated me for these multiple times.  I walk about 15 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Dony.  He is in the United States, but he does help us with some money for our expenses.  My mother’s name is Lesbia and she takes care of our home.  I have one sister. We live with my grandparents.  Our house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It has five rooms and a kitchen.  We have running water and electricity.  My grandparents have some cows and calves.  I am in 1st grade, and in my free time, I like to play ball.  My favorite color is orange and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are bananas and Pollo Campero (restaurant chain in Guatemala).  My family attends an Adventist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Didier Jared Gutierrez Riz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00