Catarino


Gender Male
Birth Date Apr 21, 2006
Age 13 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2857

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Catarino Luarca Saquic.  I was born on April 21, 2006.  I am a healthy child.  I have one brother and one sister who also attends the feeding program.  We walk about 10 minutes to get to the program.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  We have three rooms and a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  All of my family is in good health.  My father’s name is Martin and he works as a farmer and a microbus driver. He grows corn for our own consumption.  My mother’s name is Manuela and she is a housewife and weaves typical items to sell and earn money for our expenses.  We have some hens.  I am in 6th grade.  My favorite color is black and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are strawberries and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play ball and to watch movies.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Catarino Luarca Saquic

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00