Lesbia Cristina Rodriguez de la Cruz
Ref# CH4266

About Me
My name is Lesbia Cristina Rodriguez de la Cruz. I'm 8 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 9, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Lesbia Cristina Rodriguez de la Cruz.  I was born on May 9, 2012.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 3 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and two sisters.  One of my sisters also attends the feeding program.  We own the house in which we live.  It has three rooms and a kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and a ceramic tile floor.  We have water and electricity.  We have four pigs and some chickens.  My mother’s name is Teresa and she takes care of our home and of my siblings and me.  My father’s name is Vicente and he is a mason.  I am in 1st grade, and when I am not in school, I enjoy playing dolls.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the dove.  The foods that I like best are strawberries and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Lesbia Cristina Rodriguez de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary