Jose Alvaro


Gender Male
Birth Date May 14, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0017

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Jose Alvaro Grave Morente.  I was born on May 14, 2015 and I am three years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Agustin and he works as a day laborer.  He also travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest. My mother’s name is Antonia. She raises chickens for selling and we actually have also a pig. This year, they are building a house.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We do not have electricity, nor running water.  We get our water from a natural water source. I am an only child, and my mother is the one who brings me to the feeding program.  I do not go to school yet because I am still too young, so I like to spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the hen.  The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and apples.  Currently, my family does not attend any Church because my parents had not made the decision as a couple yet.

With much love and many blessings,

Jose Alvaro Grave Morente

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

 

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00