Jenny Beatriz Mendez Calachij
Ref# PA1610

About Me
My name is Jenny Beatriz Mendez Calachij. I'm a 15-year-old.

My birthday is
June 16, 2009.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

This is Jenny Beatriz Mendez Calachij, and I am writing this to update my information for 2023. First, I will tell you about my family. We are still members of Prince of Peace Church, and we attend services on Monday and Saturday. We believe in God, and LW Evangelism team has encouraged us to go ahead. We are a humble family, and our greatest needs are groceries and corn. My mother’s name is Maria. She is 29 years old, and she is in good health too. She goes to work to the coast every two months in order to cover our needs. Sadly, my stepfather passed away last year due to an accident. 

Now let me tell you a little about myself. I am 14 years old, and I am healthy. I no longer attend school this year. I shepherd our goats every day, and I help my mother with the household chores. I want to learn to weave napkins. My favorite celebration is Christmas because I can eat “tamales and ponche”. I get excited when it is my birthday, and I wear my newest clothes. I prefer soccer as a sport, and I love drinking “incaparina” (hot drink made from corn and soy). I want to improve my Spanish since I speak Quiche dialect as my first language. Living Water is very important in my life, and for my mother, it is a great help when I receive my food at the program. I say goodbye to you for now.

All the best

Jenny Beatriz Mendez Calachij

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/A-A-C Secretary, Antigua Guatemala