Manuela Angelica Hernandez Calachij
Ref# PT0244

About Me
My name is Manuela Angelica Hernandez Calachij. I'm a 8-year-old.

My birthday is
September 20, 2015.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name is Manuela Angelica Hernandez Calachij. I was born on September 20, 2015, and I am 8 years old. I am a healthy girl. I am in 1st grade at school this year. My favorite color is pink. I love dogs. I like to play with toy dishes at home. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have 3 brothers and 2 sisters, and two of them are part of the Feeding Program.  We walk for thirty minutes to attend the Program along with my mother. As a family, we are attending the Catholic Church. I am under the care of my parents. My mother’s name is Magdalena Calachij Garcia. She is a housewife and takes care of the family. My father`s name is Marcos Hernandez Alonzo. He earns a living by working as a farmer in order to support us financially. We live in our own house. It has only two rooms, and we cook in one of these. The house is made of adobe and wood, tin sheets roof, and dirt floors. We have no running water. We get it from a nearby natural spring. We use Ocote Pine at night because we have no electricity.  We have hens at home, but we would like to have some chickens too. As a humble family, our needs are corn and groceries. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you greatly and protect you!

Kisses and hugs,

Manuela Angelica Hernandez Calachij

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua