Juljan Xhaja
Ref# UMD0061

About Me
My name is Juljan Xhaja. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 2, 2011.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Juljan Xhaja. I am a 9 years old boy and my birthday is on May 2nd. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a driver. I attend the fourth grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. I enjoy learning and my favorite subject at school is Language. Because of the Pandemic, we are wearing masks and respect the distancing while we attend school, but we are happy that we can go to school instead of taking the lessons at home. I also enjoy sports and my favorite game to play is football. Right after school I get together with my friends to play football, but very rarely because at present it is too cold to play. I return from school at midday and right after I have my lunch, I like to help my parents with all that they ask me to do as shopping or picking wood from outside. The winters are very cold and at times the temperatures go minus 13 grades Celsius. For this reason, the fire burns in our home all day. We already had the first snow and the roads in the next morning were icy and it was slippery and very cold. My family and I live in Dunica, Upper Mokra. This village is too far from Pogradec and during the winter we have difficulties to reach to the town because the roads are way too bad, covered with snow or mud. My father’s name is Perparim and my mother’s name is Tahibe. I have a 20 years old sister whose name is Kristjana. My family and I, same as all the other ones in my village deal with agriculture and raise animals in order to benefit from them. My parents usually plant vegetables and wheat as well as other products that are food provision for our animals as alfalfa or corn. My parents care for two cows and provide for us milk, cheese and butter to consume. Once a year, my father sells the calf and benefits an amount that he uses where is needed the most in our family. My father has also a mule. With the mule he transports the products from the fields to our home and is able to collect from the mountain the wood we burn during the winter. My mother besides the housekeeping is also working together with my father in the land and cares for the animals. She is working in the vegetable garden and during the autumn she preserves tomatoes or peppers for us to have food provision during the winter. We have also got beans from our garden to consume during the winter. My father has been able to sell wood to the people and earn just a bit more of money in order to use it for our family, mainly to make sure that we have enough food on our table. I go to the house that the staff of Adopt a Child comes to do the Bible study meetings and the Bible classes regularly after school. I am happy that as I am registered in the programme of Adopt a Child, I am benefiting help spiritually and physically. Every month, I have received a package containing groceries and I am happy to learn from the Word of God as the teachers are teaching to us there. I am very thankful to the Adopt a Child for the first Christmas gift I received. God bless you for your constant care on me.  

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania