Rohen Qose
Ref# UMT0002

About Me
My name is Rohen Qose. I'm a 13-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 10, 2009.
Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Hello! My name is Rohen Qose. I am a 12 year old boy and my birthday is on January 10th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is blue and my future dream is to be a teacher. I attend the 6th grade at school and enjoy learning. I am doing well in all the subjects we take from our teachers at school and my favorite subject we take is Language. Schools were closed for the New Year holidays and we started again on January 11th. I had a nice time during these two weeks off and enjoyed playing football with my friends. We celebrated the New Year at home and my mother cooked for us a special dinner which is traditional for the New Year. I am doing my best to help my parents at home with all that I can offer. I go to the shop to get things my mother needs or take wood from outside inside our home when we have the fire going.

My family and I live in Oosolle. Our village is quite small and part of the community of Trebinja and same as all the people in this village, we face hardships and deal with poverty. Trebinja is a community centre for many other villages around it and in the centre of the village we have a high school, a community building with a few offices, a clinic where a few nurses and doctors come to serve to the people as well as a few coffee bars and groceries shops. My father’s name is Stavro and my mother’s name is Rozeta. I am the only child in the family. My father is emigrating and working in Greece for six months dealing there with agriculture. With what he earns there, he provides for our living. We have got land in the village and my parents constantly plant wheat, crops, vegetables as well as corn and alfalfa. My mother bakes the bread at home and this is why my parents plant wheat. My parents besides tomatoes, peppers plant also beans so that we can consume them especially during the winter. My mother has already preserved tomatoes and peppers for us to consume as well as a few vases with jam from the apples and plums we have around our garden. My parents care for a cow and we benefit milk and other sub products from it. Selling its calf each year my father earns a good amount that he uses to buy for us more food or what is needed the most in our family. My father has already managed to provide the stock food the cow needs during the winter. The government is giving a social assistance to my parents because what we benefit from the land or animals is too less to meet our needs for the living. We use in our home a fire cooking stove so that we can stay warm in our living room. We only have the possibility to use wood for heating and my father has managed to provide the wood that we need to burn during all the winter. I am very happy that I am now registered in the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child. I am benefiting once every month a package that contains groceries as flour, sugar, oil, sugar, rice, washing detergents, soaps, etc and we feel privileged to get such a great help as family. I have also received a Christmas gift containing kindergarten supplies that were needed for me. The team comes to our village twice a week and they are doing Bible study meetings for the ladies and children’s meetings for the teens. I am also frequenting the Bible classes. Respecting the Pandemic distancing rules we keep masks on while we attend school and also the Bible classes.  Even that we live in a Muslim community many ladies are frequenting the meeting and learning from the Bible. Thank you for your care and God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania