Klaudio Golemi
Ref# PG0025

About Me
My name is Klaudio Golemi. I'm a 12-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 28, 2008.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pogradec

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Klaudio Golemi. I am a 12 years old boy and my birthday is on March 28th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is red and my future dream is to be a mechanic so that I can work in a car service.  I attend the seventh grade at school and try my best to study well and earn good evaluation grades in the subjects we take from our teachers there. My favorite subject that I like to study the most is History. Because of the Pandemic, we are wearing masks and respect the distancing while we attend school. After school, I like to get together with my friends and same as most of the boys we gather to play football. At times we also decide to have short walks and speak between us.  I offer myself to help my parents when they need me to do something at home like buying things in our nearest shop, bringing in the fire wood, etc. My family and I live in the village of Verdova, very close to Pogradec. My father’s name is Julian and my mother’s name is Drita. My father and mother had a divorce and I am living together with my stepfather whose name is Zaim. I have two brothers and a sister as well as two stepbrothers and two stepsisters. They are all registered in the program of Adopt a Child. My stepfather is jobless and he does all sorts of jobs offered to him in daily bases like unloading a truck, carrying wood up to the people’s homes that live in apartments, doing hard construction jobs, etc. He doesn’t work daily and earns too less.  Having no job, we as family are considered very poor and the government is giving to us a social assistance. This is a very small amount and helpful only to cover the immediate needs or the bills.  My mother is doing the housekeeping, cooking, cleaning and the shopping. We are one of the poorest families in the village of Verdova and lack food and many basic needs remain unfulfilled.  Pogradec is located in the southeast of the Republic of Albania, is the main town of the district of Pogradec and is part of the Korca region. The city has an area of ​​13 square km and lies on the shores of Lake Ohrid. Pogradec lies 700 meters above sea level in a valley, which is surrounded by mountains to the west and low hills to the south and east. Pogradec in the past has been an important industrial center in Albania. To be mentioned at that time were the industry of chrome, iron, nickel, coal, fishing, wood processing and beverages. Today the citizens of Pogradec try to be self-employed or employed by the municipality. A considerable part of the population of Pogradec has chosen to emigrate abroad due to unemployment in the country. The difficult economic situation is felt in the city as well as in the villages. Pogradec has Muslim, Orthodox, Bektashi populations. Since 1994, after Albania was opened in our city, the first evangelical missionaries arrived and today we have a considerable percentage due to the fruitful services that have been in the city and in the villages. There are also recently some new sects such as Jehovah's Witnesses and Mormons, these are a very small percentage of this population. The Living Water center in Pogradec was established in 1995. From this center are encouraged food programs associated with evangelistic and social work and churches are planted in the area of ​​Mokra. Many people have heard the Gospel and have known Christ as God and Savior. We have the privilege of having a new Church near this center. The Living Water Church in Pogradec has its service every Sunday at 10:00. Through this new church the Living Water Service aims to evangelize and raise disciples in the city and in the villages around it.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania