Wendy Marisol


Gender Female
Birth Date Jun 06, 2008
Age 11 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Wendy Marisol Barrera Us.  I was born on June 6, 2008.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and two sisters.  We own the house in which we live.  It has three rooms, a living room and a kitchen.  The house is made of cement blocks with a tin roof and a ceramic tile floor.  We have electricity, and we get our water from a well.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is working in the United States.  She has good communication with us and helps us with our expenses.  My father abandoned us about five years ago, and we do not have any communication with him.  Our grandmother, Isabel, lives with us and takes care of us.  I am in 5th grade, and in my free time, I like to play tag and hide-and-seek.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the rabbit.  The foods that I like best are grapes and hilachas (typical Guatemala dish).  My family attends a Catholic church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Wendy Marisol Barrera Us

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00