Silverio Alejandro

Gender Male
Birth Date Dec 27, 2011
Age 8 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country



Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Silverio Alejandro Riz García.  I was born on December 27, 2011 and I am 7 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Silverio and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to work cutting cane for six months each year.  My mother’s name is Lorenza and she is a housewife.  We own the home in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  The house has one room and a separate kitchen.  We have electricity and running water.  My family has a few domestic animals such as: chickens, dogs and cats.  I have 1 brother and 4 sisters, and I walk to the feeding program with my oldest sister.  I am in 1st grade this year, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing my toy cars.  My favorite color is green, and my favorite animal is the dove.  The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and cantaloupe.  My family attends an Evangelical Church. 

With much love and many blessings,

Silverio Alejandro Riz Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options