Lucrecia Samanta


Gender Female
Birth Date Dec 14, 2013
Age 5 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0015

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello!  My name is Lucrecia Samanta de la Cruz García.  I was born on December 14, 2013 and I am 5 years old.  I am in good health and I attend the feeding program at Pasojoc III.  My father’s name is Gerardo and he is a farmer.  Each year, he travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  He also goes to the capital to earn money by carrying packages and bundles for other people.  My mother’s name is Cristina and she is a housewife.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof.  The house has one room with a separate kitchen which has walls made of wood.  We do not have electricity nor running water.  We use candles for lighting, and we get our water from the river with a hose.  My family has a few domestic animals such as: chickens, turkeys and a dog.  I have two brothers and three sisters, and I walk to the feeding program with my sister.  I do not go to school yet because I am too young, so I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and watermelon.  My family attends an Evangelical Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Lucrecia Samanta de la Cruz García

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00