Vilma Julieta Calachij de la Cruz
Ref# PT0186

About Me
My name is Vilma Julieta Calachij de la Cruz. I'm a 6-year-old.

My birthday is
July 21, 2016.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town. The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common. The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night. Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors. Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.

My name is Vilma Julieta Calachij de la Cruz, and I am 6 years old. I was born on July 21, 2016. I am not in school due to my young age. I stay at home playing dolls and toy dishes. My favorite color is sky blue, and I love chickens. The food that I like the most is fried chicken. I have three brothers and one sister, and I live with them and my parents. My father strives to support us working as a day laborer, and he also travels to the Coast to work during the coffee harvest. My mother stays at home doing her chores and taking care of us. She also raises domestic animals such as: chickens and sheep. We are grateful to God because He has kept us in good health. We attend the Catholic Church, and we are part of a charismatic group. Our house is owned by my father. We have two rooms and a separate kitchen made of adobe walls, tin sheet roof and dirt floor with running water but not electricity. We use candles and flashlights for lighting. My father pays for the water service. Our basic needs are groceries, corn, clothes and shoes. We walk about 90 minutes to attend the Feeding Program.

Many hugs and kisses,

Vilma Julieta Calachij de la Cruz

Translated by: Lucia Gravez, AAC Secretary Antigua