Suanny Maribel Natareno Elias
Ref# NE2665

About Me
My name is Suanny Maribel Natareno Elias. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 4, 2015.
Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

NE2665

Nueva Esperanza, which means New Hope, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City, Guatemala.  An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump.  Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard.  Zone 5, where Nueva Esperanza is located, is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City.  It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area.  Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it.  Life in Zone 5 is very difficult. This child lives on top of an old rubbish dump in Zone 5 of Guatemala City.  It is an extremely dangerous area where criminals, prostitutes and drug addicts live. Hello! I am so happy to have the opportunity to greet you through this letter. I hope you are in good health together with your loved ones. My name is Suanny Maribel and I am six years old. I was born in Guatemala City on June 4th, 2015. My favorite color is pink, and my favorite animal is the cat. I like all kinds of meals, but I love eating chicken with potatoes. I live along with my family in a place called “Lourdes dos”, located in Zone 5.

My mother’s name is Iris Natareno; she does the housework and takes care of us. I cannot tell you much about my father because he passed away before my birth. I cannot visit his grave because my mother told me that he was buried as an UP (Unidentified Person). That is the reason why I only have my mother’s last name. Currently, she has a new husband; his name is Mr. Juan Escorcia. He has lived with us for three years. He earns a living as a driver of heavy transport to cover our family needs. We do not have our own house. Fortunately, my grandmother lends us her home. The house only has two spaces: the basement and the principal room. The house is made out of block, metal sheet roof and wooden floor with running water and electricity. Fortunately, we live 15 minutes from the feeding program. We do not attend a church, but we trust in God. His mercy has been the greatest in our lives because we are all in good health. Finally, let me tell you that my mother assisted a member of the Evangelism team to get information about me by phone, since the staff want to protect us from the virus. I leave you for now, but if you want to ask me something else about my life, feel free to do it.

Sending you the hugest kisses and hugs,

Suanny Maribel Natareno Elias

Translated by Hillary Popol / AAC Secretary