Arsi Doce
Ref# UMT0037

About Me
My name is Arsi Doce. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
January 11, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Arsi Doce. I am a 9 years old boy and my birthday is on January 11th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is green and my future dream is to be a police. I attend the second grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. I enjoy learning and my favorite subject at school is Math. Because of the Pandemic, we are wearing masks and respect the distancing while we attend school, but we are happy that we can go to school instead of taking the lessons at home. Right after school I get together with my friends to play outside for a short while. We usually play with a ball or do running races, but very rarely because at present it is too cold to play. The winters are very cold and at times the temperatures go minus 13 grades Celsius. For this reason, the fire burns in our home all day. We already had the first snow and the roads in the next morning were icy and it was slippery and very cold. My family and I live in Pleshisht, Upper Mokra. This village is too far from Pogradec and during the winter we have difficulties to reach to the town because the roads are way too bad, covered with snow or mud. My father’s name is Arjan and my mother’s name is Pranvera. I have a 3 years old sister whose name is Xheni. When my mother is busy doing the housekeeping or when she works in the lands, I like to care for her. We play together inside our home and she loves me dearly. My family and I, same as all the other ones in my village deal with agriculture and raise animals in order to benefit from them. My parents usually plant vegetables and wheat as well as other products that are food provision for our animals as alfalfa or corn. My parents care for a cow and provide for us milk, cheese and butter to consume. Once a year, my father sells the calf and benefits an amount that he uses where is needed the most in our family. My father has also a horse. With the mule he transports the products from the fields to our home and is able to collect from the mountain the wood we burn during the winter. My mother besides the housekeeping is also working together with my father in the land and cares for the animals. She is working in the vegetable garden and during the autumn she preserves tomatoes or peppers for us to have food provision during the winter. We have also got beans from our garden to consume during the winter. Around our land and garden, we have also got a few fruit trees and my mother makes composts from these fruits. The local community of Trebinja is where my parents go often to receive different services from the offices there as well as to receive every month a small amount considered as social assistance. This amount is given our family because we are poor and what we benefit from agriculture or by the animals is not enough. I go to the place that the staff of Adopt a Child comes to do the Bible study meetings and the Bible classes regularly after school. I am happy that as I am registered in the programme of Adopt a Child, I am benefiting help spiritually and physically. Every month, I have received a package containing groceries and I am happy to learn from the Word of God as the teachers are teaching to us there. I am very thankful to the Adopt a Child for the first Christmas gift I received. God bless you for your constant care on me.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania