Heidy Carolina


Gender Female
Birth Date Aug 17, 2007
Age 12 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Heidy Carolina Lopez Toj.  I was born on August 17, 2007.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and one sister.  My father’s name is Francisco and he has a food business.  My mother’s name is Estela and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of cement block with a tin roof and a ceramic tile floor.  We have water and electricity.  The only animals we have are two cats.  I am in 5th grade, and in my free time, I like to be with my sister in the bakery.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are fried chicken and apples.  My family attends a Pentecostal church.

With much love and many blessings,

Heidy Carolina Lopez Toj

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00