Moises Jose Guarcas Pol
Ref# CA1928

About Me
My name is Moises Jose Guarcas Pol. I'm a 14-year-old.

My birthday is
February 13, 2010.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! I am Moises Jose Guarcas Pol. I was born on February 13, 2010, and I am already 13 years old. This year I attend fifth grade. I like cows and my favorite color is blue. Fried chicken is the meal I love. My hobby is playing football. Thankfully, I am in good health and so is my family. I have two sisters and two brothers. My biological father did not legally recognize me at the time of my birth because he was underage, however, he abandoned us about 5 years ago. My mother’s name is Manuela Guarcas Pol. She does the housework, raises hens and takes care of my siblings and me. My mother established a relationship with Mr. Camilo Ordonez Coj about 3 years ago. He lives and works in the United States. They met on Facebook and started their relationship. My mother receives economic support from him.

My family and I attend Assembly of God Church. We live on our own property; my mother is the owner. There are three adobe rooms with tile roofs and a floor that is just dirt; we use two rooms as a bedroom and the other as a kitchen. We do not have running water or electricity; we use candles to get light, and we bring water from the nearby river. I live one hour away from the feeding program by walking. The most needed items at home are groceries. This time the Living Water staff collected this information personally for the record, and my mother Manuela Guarcas provided it. This is all for now. Every blessing to you

Special hugs,

Moises Jose Guarcas Pol

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala