Liljana Bajraktari
Ref# WKD0006

About Me
My name is Liljana Bajraktari. I'm 40 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 8, 1980.
Sponsorship Type

Widow/Widower

Attends Program

Kotodesh

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Liljana Bajraktari. I am 40 years old and my birthday is on June 8th. I am doing well and in good health. My husband died a year ago. I have two children whose names are Kristi and Frida. Kristi is 18 years old, a young matured man. He is trying his very best to provide for us and is always trying to find a job. At present he is working in the lands we own as family but he is also trying to emigrate and work in Macedonia so he can provide a better income for himself and provide more for us. My daughter’s name is Frida. She is 15 years old and on September she starts the eighth grade at school. She is also trying her best to help in our home with cleaning, washing the dishes and with the other things that are needed to be done at home. My mother in-low is also living with us and she is a great help working alongside with me in the fields as well as carrying to feed our cow. Since my husband died, life started to be different and harder to face. I lost his support and care and I am now left with less income. On spring my mother in-law and I plated the vegetable garden and we provided for consumption beans, tomatoes, peppers, anions, etc. Previously we plated wheat and we had the harvesting time on July. We provide flour and bake the bread at home. The hay is used as stock food for our cow.  We have planted alfalfa and corn as well so we can provide more stock food for it to use during the winter. Keeping and carrying for a cow, we all benefit milk, butter and other products. Once a year we sell its calf and gain a bit more of income to buy groceries or clothes. Around our land and garden we have also got a few fruit trees and we have started to gather the apples, pears and plums to make jam or composts. We preserve them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. Since my husband died, the government is giving to our family a special social assistance dedicated to orphans. We will benefit this till my daughter will be 18 years old. We are using this amount to pay our bills and what is left to buy groceries. I am very thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship program and to the church in Kotodesh for their help. I have received every month a food beg containing groceries as oil, flour, rice, sugar, pasta, washing detergents, etc. I attend the ladies meetings and the church services every week. I am happy that I can go there because I don’t get out too much. Both my children attend the activities of our church. Frida is also in the sponsorship programme. I am thankful to you for your support and care. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania